Thursday, November 25, 2021

Magic The Gathering: Arena

 Salutations, my curious congregation. I've got magic on the brain so now we're going to talk a little bit about Arena and the ups and downs I've been having with it because at the time I'm writing this, Crimson Vow is about to drop and I'm very excited about it.

TWs: General gaming wankery, swearing, the sheer corrosive force of my personality.

Alright so let me start with my biggest complaint. I really wanted to play ranked and I have this bug where it just won't let me rank up no matter how much I'm winning. And apparently it's not just me, it's a whole bunch of people, and all Wizards is willing to do about it is say 'oh, sucks to be you but we'll fix this when Crimson Vow drops lol' and then they mark it resolved.

It's not resolved. They didn't even refund the people that spent a bunch of money in preparation for playing ranked so they could get the prizes that come with ranking up the season before the new one. Like, honestly this is borderlining theft at this point. Not for me, I didn't pay them anything, just spent a bunch of time trying to rank up when it was never going to work.

I've also been a huge pain in the butt to other players who are just playing without playing ranked. The deck I play is kind of an asshole, after all, and you basically have to go hard with it if you want to win, so I don't really have the option of being more casual in the casual lane. If ranked would work, I'd be over there, but no.

Secondary complaint: A lot of the players are wangrods who, instead of conceding when they realize they're going to lose they just sit there and let the timer run out and dear god I'm over it. I know that the hope is probably that the opponent will realize they're going to be sitting there waiting a million years but I'm never going to reward that kind of fuckery.

I must have played like 30 games today and never once got to go first.

But in spite of all of this I'm legitimately having a good time. The fact that it does all of the math on its own is fun, and I also really like clicking around on the battlegrounds they put us in. I am an adult who is splashing in puddles with my cursor on a digital screen and I am so excited to be able to do that.

I also like that if I have a full set of a card I can use it in as many decks as I want and don't have to craft it again for the new deck. That's pretty rad.

And all of this because I wasn't even as excited for Eldraine as I am for Crimson Vow. Listen. Political Intrigue Vampire Wedding?

Political. Intrigue. Vampire. Wedding.

Give me all this opulence and Olivia looking absolutely ravishing in her dress and so many thematic cards for the party guests and aaah. I'm so ready to go. And that's why I'm still playing in spite of all of these things that irritate me.


Fortune Favors,

Robin the Red

No comments:

Post a Comment